What is Tarot?

Tarot is a system of providing guidance and insight into our daily lives.

The tarot consists of a deck of 78 cards with 22 Major Arcana (cards) and 56 Minor Arcana (cards). The Major Arcana tend to refer to bigger, more significant situations/decisions and the Minor Arcana tend to refer more to our day-to-day activities.

The 56 Minor Arcana consist of four suits, a little like playing cards: Cups, Wands, Swords and Pentacles. Each suit consists of cards from one to 10 and then four court cards – Page, Knight, Queen and King.

Each card has a particular meaning, and when shuffled and laid out in a tarot “spread” can tell a story about what’s going on in your life right now, and what is likely to happen in the future.

A tarot card reader (me!) is able to “read” the cards, and tell you your story, thus hopefully giving you guidance, insight and/or validation about a particular situation.

Some people are apprehensive about tarot cards – some are afraid, some think it’s a load of rubbish and others just know that it’s not for them. But tarot cards are neither good nor bad, though they can be used to encourage, give hope, and identify future options.

*Tarot cards pictured are The Gilded Tarot, illustrated by Ciro Marchetti, 2012. Llewellyn Worldwide.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s